letter to a character from a screenplay I wrote in 1997

Dearest Manfred,

I want to apologize for not making your movie sooner. I wandered away from you, from my heart, from my life. I’m not entirely sure where I am. If you see me, please let me know. 

Thank you for holding so much of me in a stasis, in a beautiful, fun world of laughter and light hearted understanding of the foibles of my life. I have for the moment forgotten how to laugh about me. I guess that would be key to finding my way back to you. To me.

I feel like I am locked in that file cabinet with my films. With you Manfred, and with Sadie, and with Kate, and with Sam, and with Lilly. God, I know why I can’t open that drawer. Putting that on the to-do list. 

So, I am sorry for the delays. They are only delays. Time marches on here, but fortunately stays always the same with you. 

-Waiting. Waiting for the time when I can show you happiness.

S.

tiger on a buddha head

 

Leave a Reply

