When doing the “right” thing is wrong

I read this quote below last night. It is timely, as I realized this week I was spending to much time doing what I thought was the right thing to do (teaching), and not enough time doing what was right for me (making films).

From page 191 of the book “True Purpose” by Tim Kelley
   “You are a magnificent gift, sent by your trusted source to all of the people of the world. The world desperately needs what you have brought. But don’t forget that you are one of the people of the world. You are a gift sent to yourself, as well. We have been waiting for you for a long time, but we can wait just a little bit longer, while you give this gift to yourself first. We’ll get in line, right behind you.”

You are probably good at a lot of things. Which ones bring you joy?  Which one feels like doing it is a gift to yourself?
My recent experience tells me, if you are forcing yourself to find the joy in something because you think you should, maybe there’s something else that is a better source of joy for you.   Is there something that if you were told “that’s what you should pursue,” you’d say “REALLY? That’s what I’ve always wanted to hear.” I’m just saying, if there’s something like that for you, maybe you should put the should there.

2 responses to “When doing the “right” thing is wrong

  1. I really agree with what you are saying… and this day and age, ppl are capable of doing more than one thing, i realized once i found what i’m good at… what makes me happy, all the other things that i’m doing (dentistry and composing music) became easier and even more fun… my happeness is when i write 🙂

    All the best in doing what makes you happy, for you and others

  2. Susannah Raulino

    Yes, that’s what I’m looking forward to, everything else becoming easier, more fun, and more genuine. I can feel my approach to everything changing already. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Happy writing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

