a long road

When I turned fifty, I finally decided that, even though people tell you to take a bath because it is relaxing, I was no longer going to submerge myself in a tub on any regular basis. I will shower, don’t get me wrong, but I just realized, I didn’t need to fight the intense anxiety I felt every time I sank into that, albeit lavender scented, sea salty water. It finally dawned on me – I hate baths, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Fifty has been a year of realizing:

I’m not interested, I don’t have to do it.

I’m not afraid, I’m going to say it.

I really love to do this, I’m going to do it.

I am pleased with fifty so far.  Fearlessness goes so far toward getting you places you want to be, and getting to be with people you want to be with.  And there’s still time to enjoy it…

What has age taught you?

7 responses to “a long road

  1. Thirty taught me that my twenties were just practice. Life is still fun, but its even better with a little experience and a touch of wisdom under my belt. So many cringe at the thought of turning thirty, but to me it was something to embrace. I’m no longer just starting out, but reaching out for all life has to offer. 🙂

  2. Susannah Raulino

    Glad I’m not the only one observing that getting older is getting better.
    I enjoyed your blog http://cbwentworth.wordpress.com/
    If you are ever in Austin, Texas, check out the Alamo Draft house at the Ritz. Beer, dinner and the best movie events. Master Pancake and the sing-a-longs are my favorites. It’s like no other movie going experience.
    http://drafthouse.com/austin/the_ritz

  3. The years have taught me that I can and will do whatever I want. But I’d better get started! My favorite quote is George Eliot: “It is never too late to be what you might have been.”

  4. I find I’m feeling the fear, but doing it anyway. I wish felt fearless but not so. I certainly would agree that the more you leap. The less fear you feel. Or the more used to it you get.

  5. Susannah Raulino

    It’s been a gradual thing for me, but I noticed it even more this week. Someone shot me a look that used to wither me. And now, I just smiled, because, well, it’s just a look. What are you gonna do? Just keep being yourself and let people’s fears and judgments work themselves out, right?
    That said, I do still have relationship doubts and fears, I admit, but writing this blog helped me realize, what do I have to lose? Might as well put myself out there and like people and love people. I am me, someone is interested or they aren’t. Life goes on. 🙂
    Always good to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

